How to Use Your Card

How to Use Your Canada Post Prepaid Reloadable Visa* Card
Please read the helpful information below about using your Canada Post Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card. It will help you get the most from your Card and reduce declined transactions. Please also visit the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page to review further details about your Card.

There are a few things you need to do when you first get your Card:

1) In order to use your Card in stores and to access cash from an Automated Teller Machine (ATM), you need to activate your Card and get a Personalized Identification Number (PIN). To obtain your PIN and activate your Card, call 1-844-590-8876 toll-free and follow the steps below:

Call Cardholder Services at 1-844-590-8876.

Enter your 16-Digit card number.

When prompted, enter your month and date of birth as MMDD (i.e. if you were born on December 4th, you would enter “1204”).

Once your information has been verified, you will be:

  • advised that your Card is active,
  • advised of your current balance, and
  • assigned a 4-digit PIN. Remember and record this PIN and keep it separate from your Card at all times. When your PIN is confirmed, simply hang up. You may retrieve your PIN at any time by calling Cardholder Services at 1-844-590-8876 or by downloading the zenwallet™ app to your mobile phone. Available on Google Play and Apple App Store.

2) Sign the back of your Card right away with your signature (please do not print) and memorize your PIN.

3) Go to CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca to set up and register your account online. Click “Register Your Card” on the homepage. You will be prompted for personal and security information and to select a username and password. You will be provided a verification page to confirm your details are correct and to confirm you are aware of the terms and conditions associated with using this Card. You can then view your available balance, transactions and Cardholder Agreement, make card-to-card Transfers, and manage your personal profile.

4) Download the zenwallet™ app to your mobile phone to check your balance, view your transactions and get your PIN. Available on Google Play and Apple App Store.

How to use your Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card
Simply present your Card in stores. Depending on the type of terminal in the store, you will be required to insert the Card into the terminal to enter your PIN, or sign your name on a sales receipt. Remember your Card will be declined if you try to make a purchase for more than the available balance on your Card.

Where to use your Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card and knowing your Card balance
You can present your Card in stores, just like you would cash, wherever Visa cards are electronically accepted, and you can use your Card online. For a successful transaction, it is important to know the balance on your Card. Merchants do not have access to this information and any purchases for more than the balance on the Card will be declined. Track your balance to avoid declined transactions by logging into CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca, calling Cardholder Services toll-free at 1-844-590-8876 or through the zenwallet™ app.

How to reload your Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card
Add money to your Card by cash or debit at participating Canada Post locations (funds available immediately) or reload your Card from work or home by making a bill payment transfer from your bank’s online banking website. To add money directly from your bank account, make a bill payment to the vendor name “Canada Post Visa Card”. The amount you load will be available in one (1) to three (3) days. Not all financial institutions may allow this feature so check with your bank to ensure this bill payment option is available for you.

There are limits on the amount you may load at any one time, as outlined in the Cardholder Agreement. You can reload your Card until the “Good thru” date (expiry date). As long as your Card is active, has a balance and is in good standing, approximately 45 days before the “Good thru” date, you will be sent a new Card in the mail.

How to withdraw cash
Use your Card and PIN to withdraw cash at any ATM in Canada or around the world displaying the Visa symbol, or take your Card to any Visa issuing financial institution to make an over the counter cash advance (subject to fees and limits). See the Cardholder Agreement for withdrawal fees. Cash requests are subject to the available balance on your Card.

For purchases greater than your Card balance (Split Payments)
Please inform the sales clerk you want to make a purchase for an amount greater than your remaining balance before you try and pay. Often referred to as a ‘split payment’, you must tell the merchant the amount you want to pay with your Card before they begin the transaction and then provide another form of payment for the remainder of the purchase price. Some stores will not let you do this.

Transferring funds to another Canada Post Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card
To transfer funds to another Canada Post Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card, you can use the Card to Card Transfer option when you login to CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca.

Using your Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card at restaurants and other selected merchants
At service type merchants, such as restaurants, hotels and car rental agencies, your Card balance must be at least 15% greater than the value of your bill, as these types of merchants will factor in an additional 15% in pre-approval to cover tips, service charges, incidental expenses, etc. This is a standard practice for merchants who accept prepaid Visa cards. If you do not have enough funds on the Card to cover the extra 15-20%, your Card could be declined. In all cases, only the actual amount spent will be deducted from the Card. Authorizations at car rentals or hotels may take up to 30 days for any held amounts to be released back to your available balance. Please refer to your Cardholder Agreement.

Merchant authorizations and returns
Authorizations by a merchant are deducted from your available balance immediately and held until the actual settlement with the merchant occurs, or for seven (7) days, whichever is less. So if you ask a merchant to make an authorization and then cancel the transaction, the amount could be held for up to seven (7) days before the funds are released. If you refund something on your Card, it can take two (2) to three (3) days for the funds to appear on your Card balance.

Using your Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card at unattended Point-of-sale terminals (POS)
Because of security requirements, your Card may not work at unattended POS terminals such as parking lot pay terminals, pay phones and pay at the pump terminals.

Prepaid Reloadable Visa Card Insurance Coverage
Your Card comes with extended warranty insurance and purchase security insurance. See the Insurance Agreement for details of what your Card covers and how to make claims.

Contacting Cardholder Services
To contact Cardholder Services, call toll-free at 1-844-590-8876. For your convenience this number is also printed on the back of your Card.

English

Comment utiliser votre carte

Comment utiliser votre carte Visa* prépayée rechargeable de Postes Canada
Veuillez lire les renseignements utiles sur la façon d’utiliser votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable de Postes Canada. Ils vous aideront à tirer le meilleur parti qui soit de votre carte et à réduire le nombre d’opérations refusées. Veuillez aussi visiter la page FAQ (foire aux questions), afin de revoir d’autres détails au sujet de votre carte.

Lorsque vous obtenez votre carte, vous devez tout d’abord faire quelques démarches, décrites ci-dessous.

1) Afin de vous servir de votre carte dans les magasins et de retirer de l’argent à un guichet automatique, vous avez besoin d’activer votre carte et d’obtenir un numéro d’identification personnel (NIP). Pour obtenir votre NIP et activer votre carte, composez le numéro sans frais 1.844.590.8876 et suivez les étapes décrites ci-dessous :

Appelez les services aux titulaires de carte, au 1-844-590-8876.

Entrez votre numéro de carte de 16 chiffres.

Lorsqu’on vous le demandera, entrez le mois et le jour de votre naissance (p. ex., si vous êtes né le 4 décembre, vous devriez entrer « 1204 »).

Lorsque vos renseignements auront été vérifiés, voici ce qui se produira :

  • Vous serez avisé que votre carte est active;
  • Vous connaîtrez votre solde actuel.
  • Vous recevrez un NIP de 4 chiffres. Mémorisez et notez ce NIP, en vous assurant que cette note soit séparée de votre carte en tout temps. Lorsque votre NIP est confirmé, il ne vous reste qu’à raccrocher. Vous pouvez retrouver votre NIP en tout temps, en appelant les services aux titulaires de carte au 1-844-590-8876 ou en téléchargeant l’application zenwalletMD sur votre téléphone mobile. Disponible dans les boutiques Google Play Store et App Store d’Apple.

2) Veuillez signer le verso de votre carte immédiatement (veuillez ne pas écrire avec des caractères d’imprimerie) et mémoriser votre NIP.

3) Allez à CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca afin de configurer un compte et d’enregistrer votre carte en ligne. Dans la page d’accueil, cliquez sur « Enregistrez votre carte ». On vous demandera d’entrer des renseignements personnels et relatifs à la sécurité, ainsi que de sélectionner un nom d’utilisateur et un mot de passe. Vous verrez une page de vérification à l’écran vous demandant de confirmer que ces renseignements sont exacts et que vous acceptez les modalités associées à l’utilisation de cette carte. Vous pouvez ensuite consulter votre solde, les opérations effectuées, la Convention de titulaire de Carte, effectuer des transferts d’une carte à une autre, et gérer votre profil personnel.

4) Pour vérifier votre solde, voir vos opérations et obtenir votre NIP, téléchargez l’application zenwallet sur votre téléphone mobile. Disponible dans les boutiques Google Play Store et App Store d’Apple.

Comment utiliser votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable
Il vous suffit de présenter votre carte dans les magasins. Selon le type de terminal utilisé par le magasin, vous devrez soit insérer la carte dans le terminal et entrer votre NIP, soit signer votre nom sur un reçu de vente. N’oubliez pas que votre carte sera refusée si vous essayez de faire un achat dont le montant dépasse le solde.

Où utiliser votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable et consulter votre solde
Vous pouvez présenter votre carte dans les magasins partout où les cartes Visa sont électroniquement acceptées, comme vous le feriez avec de l’argent. Vous pouvez utiliser votre carte en ligne. Pour réussir à faire une opération, il est important de connaître le solde de votre carte. Les marchands n’ont pas accès à cette information et tout achat dont le montant dépasse le solde de la carte sera refusé. Pour éviter les opérations refusées, vérifiez votre solde en ouvrant une session à CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca, en appelant les services aux titulaires de carte sans frais, au 1-844-590-8876, ou en utilisant l’application zenwallet.

Comment recharger votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable
Ajoutez des fonds à votre carte avec de l’argent comptant ou une carte de débit dans les bureaux participants de Poste Canada (les fonds sont immédiatement disponibles) ou rechargez votre carte depuis votre travail ou la maison en utilisant la fonction 'payer une facture' de votre compte bancaire à partir du site Web de votre institution financière. Pour ajouter des fonds directement à partir de votre compte bancaire, payez une facture au nom du marchand « Carte Visa de Postes Canada ». Le montant rechargé sera disponible dans un délai d’un (1) à trois (3) jours. Les institutions financières n’acceptent pas toutes cette méthode. Vérifiez auprès de votre institution financière pour vous assurer que vous pouvez utiliser cette option.

Comme le décrit la Convention de titulaire de Carte, les montants que vous pouvez ajouter doivent respecter des limites. Vous pouvez recharger votre carte jusqu’à la « date d’expiration ». Si votre carte est active, qu’elle comporte un solde et qu’elle est en règle, une nouvelle carte vous sera automatiquement envoyée par la poste environ 45 jours avant la date d’expiration.

Comment retirer de l’argent
Utilisez votre carte et votre NIP pour retirer de l’argent à tout guichet automatique arborant le symbole Visa au Canada et dans le monde. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser votre carte à toute institution financière émettrice de cartes Visa pour obtenir une avance de fonds au comptoir (sous réserve de frais à verser et de limites à respecter). Pour connaître les frais qui s’appliquent aux retraits, consultez la Convention de titulaire de carte. Les retraits d’argent sont limités au solde disponible sur votre carte.

Pour les achats dont le montant dépasse le solde de votre carte (paiement divisé)
Si vous voulez faire un achat dont le montant dépasse le solde disponible sur votre carte, veuillez en informer le commis avant d’essayer de payer. C’est ce qu’on appelle communément un « paiement divisé ». Avant le début de l’opération, vous devez indiquer le montant que vous désirez payer avec votre carte et présenter ensuite un autre mode de paiement pour le reste du montant de l’achat. Certains magasins ne permettent pas ce type de paiement.

Transférer des fonds à une autre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable de Postes Canada
Pour transférer des fonds à une autre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable de Postes Canada, vous pouvez utiliser l’option de transfert entre cartes sur le site Web, après avoir ouvert une session sur CanadaPrepaidCardAccount.ca.

Utilisation de votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable dans les restaurants et avec certains autres marchands
Avec les marchands de services, comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les agences de location de voiture, le solde de votre carte doit dépasser d’au moins 15 % la valeur de votre facture, car ils majoreront le montant préautorisé de 15 %, afin d’acquitter les pourboires, les frais de service, les frais accessoires, etc. C’est là une pratique habituelle des marchands qui acceptent les cartes Visa prépayées. Si le solde de votre carte ne permet pas de payer ce pourcentage supplémentaire de 15 à 20 %, votre carte pourrait être refusée. Dans tous les cas, seul le montant véritablement dépensé sera déduit du solde de votre carte. Dans le cas d’opérations autorisées avec des agences de location de voiture ou des hôtels, il peut s’écouler jusqu’à 30 jours avant que ces montants retenus soient réinscrits à votre solde disponible. Veuillez consulter votre Convention de titulaire de Carte.

Autorisations d’opérations et de retours
Les opérations autorisées par un marchand sont immédiatement déduites de votre solde disponible et retenues pendant sept (7) jours ou jusqu’à ce que le marchand soit réglé, la plus courte de ces deux périodes prévalant. Si vous demandez à un marchand d’obtenir une autorisation d’opération et que vous annulez cette opération par la suite, ce montant peut être retenu jusqu’à concurrence de sept (7) jours avant de redevenir disponible. Si vous vous faites rembourser un achat sur votre carte, il peut s’écouler de deux (2) à trois (3) jours avant que les fonds ne figurent au solde de votre carte.

Utilisation de votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable à des terminaux de point de vente (PDV) sans surveillance
Pour des raisons de sécurité, votre carte pourrait ne pas fonctionner à des terminaux PDV sans surveillance comme les terminaux de paiement de frais de stationnement, de paiement aux pompes à essence et dans les téléphones publics.

Politique d’assurance de votre carte Visa prépayée rechargeable
Votre carte est dotée d’une assurance de garantie prolongée et d’une assurance-achats. Pour plus de précisions et savoir comment faire des réclamations, consultez la convention d’assurance ci-jointe.

Communiquer avec les services aux titulaires de carte
Pour contacter les services aux titulaires de carte, composez le numéro sans frais 1-844-590-8876. Pour vous faciliter la tâche, ce numéro se trouve également à l’arrière de votre carte.

French