Certificate of Insurance

Extended Warranty and Purchase Security Insurance
for reloadable Visa* Cards issued by Vancity Community Investment Bank™

Amended and Restated Effective: June 1, 2018.

This Certificate of Insurance contains information about your insurance. Refer to the Definitions section and the paragraph following this one for the meanings of all capitalized terms. Please read the entire Certificate of Insurance and keep it in a safe place.

The coverage outlined in this Certificate of Insurance is provided to eligible reloadable Visa* Cardholders by American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, a federally regulated insurance provider carrying on business in Canada under the name Assurant® (hereinafter referred to as the “Insurer”) under Group Policy number CB092014 (hereinafter referred to as the “Policy”), issued by the Insurer to Vancity Community Investment Bank (hereinafter referred to as the “Policyholder”).

The terms, conditions and provisions of the Policy are summarized in this Certificate of Insurance, which are incorporated into and form part of the Policy. If there is a change to the Policy, You will be notified in advance of any change. All benefits are subject in every respect to the Policy, which alone constitutes the agreement under which benefits will be provided. You, or a person making a claim under this Certificate of Insurance, may request a copy of the Policy by writing to the Insurer at the address shown below.

Claim payment and administrative services under this Policy are arranged by the Insurer. The Insurer’s Canadian head office is located at 5000 Yonge Street, Suite 2000, Toronto, Ontario M2N 7E9.

A. Definitions
Account means Your reloadable Visa Card account
Card means a reloadable Visa Card issued by Vancity Community Investment Bank.
Cardholder means the person in whose name the Account is registered to and in whose name Vancity Community Investment Bank issues a Card. Cardholder may also be referred to as “You” and “Your.”
Dollars and $ means Canadian dollars.
Insurer means American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida.
Insured Person means a Cardholder who pays for the personal property insured by charging it to the Card, and who is at least 18 years old on the date of purchase.
Insured Personal Property means a new item of personal property for personal use for which the cost has been charged to the Card.
Manufacturer’s Written Warranty means an express written warranty issued by or on behalf of the manufacturer of the Insured Personal Property at the time of purchase of Insured Personal Property. The Manufacturer’s Written Warranty must be valid in Canada.

B. When Coverage Begins
All coverage for a Cardholder will take effect at the time the Cardholder becomes an Insured Person by paying for the Insured Personal Property by charging the payment to the Card.

C. When Coverage Ends
An Insured Person’s coverage will end at the earliest of the following:

  • for Extended Warranty, at the expiry of the extended warranty period.
  • for Purchase Security, 90 days after the date on which the Insured Personal Property is purchased.

The Extended Warranty and Purchase Security Insurance coverage described in this Certificate is automatically terminated if the Cardholder or Insured Person ceases to fall within the Definitions, Provisions, Conditions, Coverage or Limitations and Exclusions.

D. Extended Warranty Coverage
The Insurer will extend for Insured Persons the Manufacturer’s Written Warranty on goods and products purchased anywhere in the world. The extension is equal to the length of the Manufacturer’s Written Warranty or one (1) year, whichever is less (extended warranty period). The Insurer, at its sole option, will pay the cost of either repairing, rebuilding, reconditioning or replacing Insured Personal Property that failed during the extended warranty period and would have been warranted had the Manufacturer’s Written Warranty still have been in force. The full cost of the Insured Personal Property must be charged to the Card. Partially paid for items are not covered.

E. Limitations and Exclusions
Losses are limited to costs which would have been waived had the Manufacturer’s Warranty still been in effect. The Insurer will only pay for covered loss or damage to an amount not exceeding the least of:

1. the actual cash value of the services; or
2. the actual cash value of the property at the time the covered loss occurred; or
3. $2,500 per item or set of items; and to a maximum aggregate limit of $50,000 during the
lifetime of a Cardholder.

The following goods and products are not covered under Extended Warranty:
1. items that cannot be serviced in Canada under the item’s Manufacturer’s Warranty;
2. items with a Manufacturer’s Warranty greater than five years in length;
3. items intended or used for business or commercial purposes;
4. automobiles, motor boats, airplanes, motor cycles, motor scooters, mopeds, and other motorized vehicles or equipment, except motorized wheelchairs and residential property maintenance equipment;
5. items damaged while undergoing any process or while being worked upon, where damage results from such process of work; and
6. delay, loss of use, or consequential damages.

F. Purchase Security Coverage
The Insurer will indemnify Insured Persons for DIRECT PHYSICAL DAMAGE or THEFT to Insured Personal Property occurring within 90 days from the date of purchase. This indemnity is not primary insurance.

G. Limitations and Exclusions
Indemnification for loss is limited as follows:
1. $2,500 per occurrence even if the occurrence involves more than one item of Insured Personal Property.
2. The total liability shall not exceed the amount charged to the Card.
3. The total limit of liability for property purchased with a partial payment utilizing the Card will be prorated based upon the percentage the partial payment utilizing the Card bears to the full purchase price.
4. Claims for items belonging to a pair or set will be paid for at the full purchase price of the pair or set providing the items are unusable individually and cannot be replaced individually.
5. Valid claims will be satisfied, at the Insurer’s sole option, either by replacing, repairing or rebuilding the item or by cash payment.

There shall be no payment for loss arising from the following perils:
1. flood or earthquake;
2. war, invasion, hostilities, rebellion, insurrection, confiscation by order of any government or public authority or risks of contraband or losses arising from illegal activity or acts;
3. normal wear and tear, including damage to sports equipment due to the use thereof;
4. mysterious disappearance, lost items;
5. radioactive contamination;
6. inherent product defects; or
7. theft from on or in a motor vehicle.

There shall also be no payment under the Policy for loss:
1. of cash, or its equivalent, travelers cheques, tickets and any other negotiable instruments;
2. of animals, fish, birds or living plants;
3. of jewellery and watches in baggage unless carried by hand and under the personal supervision of the Insured Person or Insured Person’s traveling companion, previously known to the Insured Person;
4. of property intended or used for commercial or business purposes;
5. of motorized or self-propelled vehicles of any kind, their accessories or attached equipment except for motorized gardening equipment, snow blowers or wheelchairs;
6. to property as a result of direct physical abuse to the property by or at the direction of the Insured Person or the Insured Person’s immediate family;
7. to property where the property was procured by the Insured Person through fraud or illegal means; or
8. where the Insured Person knowingly makes a false or fraudulent claim.

H. How to Claim

The Cardholder must notify the Insurer immediately after learning of any circumstance likely
to give rise to a claim by calling 1-855-255-5205 from Canada and the United States or (613) 634-4991 collect from elsewhere in the world.
The following general information is required for all claims:

  • Cardholder’s name, address, phone number and Visa card number
  • date and details of the claim
  • date and details of item purchased including copy of invoice and charge slip
  • estimated amount of claim
  • detail of report given to authorities (if Theft)
  • for Purchase Security, detail of report given to residential or other primary insurer

Written proof of loss, if required, must be given to the Insurer within 90 days from the date of loss. This must be a detailed sworn statement. Original and copy of necessary documents (invoice, charge slip, repair bills, estimates, Manufacturer’s Written Warranty if applicable and the like) and reports (police, fire, insurance claim and the like) relating to the claim may be required. The Insurer will provide, if necessary, any claim forms to the claimant as soon as reasonably possible but not later than 15 days after being notified of the claim. The Cardholder may be required to send, at the Cardholder’s expense and risk, the damaged item on which a claim is based, to the Insurer.

I. General Provisions and Statutory Conditions
Unless otherwise expressly provided herein or in the Policy, the following general provisions apply to the benefits described in this Certificate of Insurance.

Notice and Proof of Claim
Immediately after learning of a loss, or an occurrence which may lead to a loss covered under the Policy, notify the Insurer by calling 1-855-255-5205 from Canada and the United States, or (613) 634-4991 locally or collect from elsewhere in the world. You will then be sent a claim form.
Written notice and proof of claim must be given to the Insurer as soon as reasonably possible after the occurrence or commencement of any loss covered by the Policy, but in all events, provided within 90 days from the date of such loss, unless otherwise specified under the coverage. Written notice given by or on behalf of the claimant or the beneficiary, with information sufficient to identify the Cardholder, shall be deemed notice of claim.
Failure to provide written notice or furnish proof of claim within the time prescribed herein does not invalidate the claim if the written notice or proof is given or furnished as soon as reasonably possible, and in no event later than one year from the date a claim arises hereunder, if it is shown that it was not reasonably possible to give notice or furnish proof within the time so prescribed. If the notice or proof is given or furnished after one year, Your claim will not be paid.

Payment of Claim
Benefits payable under the Policy will be paid upon receipt of full written proof, as determined by the Insurer.

Other insurance
The insurance under the Policy is supplementary. This insurance coverage is in excess of any other applicable valid and collectible insurance or indemnity available to Insured Persons. The Insurer will be liable only for the excess of the amount of loss over the amount covered by other insurance or indemnity, and for the amount of any applicable deductible, after all other insurance or indemnity has been exhausted. Insurance provided by this Policy will not apply as contributory insurance and this non- contribution shall prevail despite any non-contribution provision in other insurance or indemnity policies or contracts. The Policy will indemnify Insured Persons only to the extent that direct physical damage or theft is not covered by such other insurance.

Gifts
Insured Personal Property given as gifts are covered for Purchase Assurance and Extended Warranty Insurance. In the event of a claim, the Cardholder, not the recipient of the gift, must make the claim for benefits.

Subrogation
Following payment of an Insured Person’s claim for loss or damage, the Insurer shall be subrogated to the extent of the amount of such payment, to all of the rights and remedies of the Insured Person against any party in respect of such loss or damage, and shall be entitled, at its own expense, to sue in the Insured Person’s name. The Insured Person shall give the Insurer all such assistance as is reasonably required to secure its rights and remedies, including the execution of all documents necessary to enable the Insurer to bring suit in the name of the Insured Person.

False Claim
If You make any claim knowing it to be false or fraudulent in any respect, You shall no longer be entitled to the benefits of coverage under the Policy, nor to the payment of any claim under the Policy.

Legal Action
Every action or proceeding against an insurer for the recovery of insurance money payable under the contract is absolutely barred unless commenced within the time set out in the Insurance Act, Limitations Act or other applicable legislation in Your province or territory.

If You Have a Concern or Complaint
If You have a concern or complaint about Your coverage, please call the Insurer at 1-855-255-5205. The Insurer will do its best to resolve Your concern or complaint. If for some reason the Insurer is unable to do so to Your satisfaction, You may pursue the concern or complaint in writing to an independent external organization. You may obtain detailed information for the Insurer’s resolution process and the external recourse either by calling the Insurer at the number listed above or at: www.assurantsolutions.ca/consumer-assistance.

Privacy
The Insurer may collect, use, and share personal information provided by You to the Insurer, and obtained from others with Your consent, or as required or permitted by law. The Insurer may use the information to: serve You as a customer and communicate with You. The Insurer may process and store Your information in another country, which may be subject to access by government authorities under applicable laws of that country. You may obtain a copy of the Insurer’s privacy policy by calling 1-888-778-8023 or from their website www.assurantsolutions.ca/privacy. If You have any questions or concerns regarding the privacy policy or Your options for refusing or withdrawing this consent, You may call the Insurer at the number listed above. 

English

Garantie prolongée et assurance achats

Garantie prolongée et assurance achats
pour les cartes Visa* rechargeables émises par la Banque d’investissement communautaire VancityMC.

Modifiée et reformulée
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1er juin 2018.

Cette attestation d’assurance renferme de l’information concernant votre assurance. Consultez la section « Définitions » et le paragraphe qui suit pour connaître la signification de tous les termes utilisés. Veuillez lire ce document attentivement et le ranger en lieu sûr.

La couverture résumée dans la présente attestation d’assurance est offerte aux titulaires admissibles de la carte Visa* rechargeable par American Bankers Compagnie d’Assurance Générale de la Floride, une société d’assurances fédérale exerçant des activités commerciales au Canada sous la dénomination sociale Assurant® (ci-après désignée par « Assureur ») en vertu de la police collective no CB092014 (ci-après désignée par « Police ») émise par l’Assureur à la Banque d’investissement communautaire Vancity (ci-après désignée par « Titulaire de la police »).

Les modalités et les dispositions de la Police sont résumées dans la présente attestation d’assurance qui est incorporée à la Police et en fait partie intégrante. Vous serez informés au préalable de toute modification apportée à la Police. Toutes les indemnités sont assujetties à tous les égards aux dispositions de la Police qui constitue l’unique contrat régissant le versement des indemnités. Vous, ou toute autre personne qui présente une demande de règlement au titre de la présente attestation d’assurance, pouvez demander une copie de la Police en écrivant à l’Assureur à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessous.

Le versement des indemnités et les services administratifs en vertu de la Police relèvent de l’Assureur. Le siège social canadien de l’Assureur est situé au 5000, rue Yonge, bureau 2000, Toronto (Ontario) M2N 7E9.

A. Définitions
Assureur : American Bankers Compagnie d’Assurance Générale de la Floride.
Bien personnel assuré : Un article personnel neuf, destiné à un usage personnel, dont le coût a été porté à la carte.
Carte : Une carte Visa rechargeable émise par la Banque d’investissement communautaire Vancity.
Compte : Votre compte de carte Visa rechargeable.
Dollars et $ : Des dollars canadiens.
Garantie écrite du fabricant : Une garantie écrite expresse émise par ou pour le fabricant du bien personnel assuré au moment de l’achat dudit bien. La garantie écrite du fabricant doit être valable au Canada.
Personne assurée : Un titulaire de carte qui règle l’achat du bien personnel assuré avec la carte et qui est âgé d’au moins 18 ans à la date d’achat.
Titulaire de carte : La personne au nom de laquelle le compte est enregistré et au nom de laquelle la Banque d’investissement communautaire Vancity émet une carte. Le titulaire de carte peut également être désigné par « vous », « votre » et « vos ».

B. Début de la couverture
La couverture du titulaire de carte prend effet au moment où le titulaire de carte devient une personne assurée, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’il règle l’achat du bien personnel assuré avec la carte.

C. Fin de la couverture
La couverture d’une personne assurée prend fin à la première des éventualités suivantes :

  • pour la garantie prolongée, lors de l’expiration de la période de garantie prolongée.
  • pour l’assurance achats, 90 jours après la date d’achat du bien personnel assuré.

La couverture de garantie prolongée et d’assurance achats décrite dans la présente attestation est automatiquement résiliée lorsque le titulaire de carte ou la personne assurée ne répond plus aux définitions, dispositions, conditions, couvertures ou limitations et exclusions.

D. Garantie prolongée
L’Assureur prolongera la garantie écrite du fabricant offerte sur les biens et les produits achetés n’importe où dans le monde pour les personnes assurées. La prolongation correspondra à la durée de la garantie écrite du fabricant ou à une période de un (1) an, selon la période la plus courte (soit la période de garantie prolongée). L’Assureur, à sa seule discrétion, payera le coût de remplacer, réparer ou reconstituer le bien personnel assuré qui se révèle défectueux pendant la période de la garantie prolongée et qui aurait été couvert pendant la période de la garantie écrite du fabricant si celle-ci avait toujours été en vigueur. Le coût intégral du bien personnel assuré doit être porté à la carte. Les articles partiellement payés avec la carte ne sont pas couverts.

E. Restrictions et exclusions
Les indemnités se limitent aux coûts qui auraient été exonérés si la garantie du fabricant avait toujours été en vigueur. L’Assureur n’effectuera aucun paiement pour les sinistres couverts qui dépassent le moins élevé des montants suivants :

  1. la valeur réelle en espèces des services; ou
  2. la valeur réelle en espèces du bien au moment où le sinistre couvert s’est produit; ou
  3. 2 500 $ par article ou par ensemble d’articles; et sous réserve d’une limite totale maximale cumulée de 50 000 $ du vivant du titulaire de carte.

Voici les biens et les produits qui ne sont pas couverts au titre de la garantie prolongée :

  1. 1. les articles qui ne peuvent être réparés au Canada au titre de la garantie du fabricant;
  2. les articles dont la garantie du fabricant a une durée de plus de cinq ans;
  3. les articles destinés à un usage commercial ou utilisés dans le but de réaliser un gain commercial;
  4. les véhicules automobiles, bateaux à moteur, aéronefs, motocyclettes, scooters, cyclomoteurs et les autres véhicules ou équipements motorisés, à l’exception des fauteuils roulants motorisés et de l’équipement d’entretien de propriété résidentielle;
  5. les articles endommagés lors d’un processus d’installation ou de réparation, lorsque les dommages résultent du processus d’exécution de ces travaux; et
  6. les retards, la privation de jouissance ou les dommages indirects.

F. Assurance achats
L’Assureur remboursera les personnes assurées pour les DOMMAGES MATÉRIELS DIRECTS ET LE VOL des biens personnels assurés se produisant dans les 90 jours à partir de la date d’achat. Cette indemnisation n’est pas une assurance de première ligne.

G. Restrictions et exclusions
L’indemnité en cas de sinistre se limite à ce qui suit :

  1. 2 500 $ par événement, même si l’événement concerne plus d’un article constituant un bien personnel assuré.
  2. La responsabilité totale ne dépassera pas le montant porté à la carte.
  3. La responsabilité totale pour les biens payés partiellement avec la carte sera calculée proportionnellement au pourcentage du paiement partiel effectué avec la carte par rapport au prix d’achat intégral.
  4. Les demandes de règlement relatives à des articles faisant partie d’une paire ou d’un ensemble seront réglées en fonction du prix d’achat intégral de la paire ou de l’ensemble, pourvu que les pièces de la paire ou de l’ensemble ne puissent être utilisées ou remplacées séparément.
  5. Les demandes de règlement valides seront réglées, à la seule discrétion de l’Assureur, en remplaçant, réparant ou reconstituant l’article, ou en effectuant un paiement au comptant.

Il n’y aura aucun paiement émis pour les sinistres découlant des risques suivants :

  1. inondation ou tremblement de terre;
  2. guerre, invasion, hostilités, rébellion, insurrection, confiscation par ordre d’une autorité gouvernementale ou publique, risques de contrebande ou dommages occasionnés par des actes ou activités illégaux;
  3. usure normale, incluant les dommages causés à un équipement de sport lorsque ceux-ci résultent de son utilisation;
  4. disparition mystérieuse et articles perdus;
  5. contamination radioactive;
  6. défauts inhérents de produit;
  7. vol dans un véhicule motorisé.

Il n’y aura non plus aucun paiement émis au titre de la Police pour ce qui suit :

  1. perte de fonds en espèces (ou son équivalant), de chèques de voyage, de billets ou d’autres titres négociables;
  2. perte d’animaux, de poissons, d’oiseaux ou de plantes vivantes;
  3. perte de bijoux ou de montres placés dans les bagages, sauf s’il s’agit de bagages à main sous la supervision directe de la personne assurée ou de son compagnon de voyage à la connaissance de la personne assurée;
  4. perte de biens utilisés par ou pour une entreprise ou dans le but de réaliser un gain commercial;
  5. perte de véhicules motorisés ou autopropulsés de tous genres, de leurs accessoires ou des équipements qui s’y rattachent (à l’exception du matériel de jardinage à moteur, des chasse-neige et des fauteuils roulants);
  6. dommages matériels directs causés par un usage abusif du bien par ou à la demande de la personne assurée ou par la famille immédiate de la personne assurée;
  7. dommages causés à un bien lorsque le bien a été acquis par des moyens frauduleux ou illégaux;
  8. lorsque la personne assurée présente sciemment une demande de règlement fausse ou frauduleuse.

H. Comment présenter une demande de règlement
Le titulaire de carte doit aviser l’Assureur dès qu’il prend connaissance de circonstances pouvant donner lieu à un sinistre en composant le 1-855-255-5205 au Canada et aux États-Unis ou le (613) 634-4991 à frais virés ailleurs dans le monde.

Voici les renseignements généraux exigés pour toutes les demandes de règlement :

  • nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone et numéro de la carte Visa du titulaire de carte;
  • date et détails concernant le sinistre;
  • date et détails concernant l’article acheté, y compris une copie de la facture et le reçu de caisse;
  • montant estimatif réclamé;
  • détails du rapport présenté aux autorités policières (en cas de vol);
  • pour l’assurance achats, détails du rapport fourni à l’assureur résidentiel ou à un autre assureur de première ligne.

Une preuve de sinistre écrite doit, selon le cas, être fournie à l’Assureur dans un délai de 90 jours à partir de la date du sinistre. Cette preuve devra être une déclaration détaillée faite sous serment. Des copies originales ou reproduites des documents requis (facture, reçu de caisse, factures de réparation, estimations, garantie écrite du fabricant, si applicable, et autres documents pertinents) et des rapports (de police, d’incendie, de règlement d’assurance et autres documents pertinents) concernant lesinistre pourraient être exigés. L’Assureur fournira, le cas échéant, tout formulaire de demande de règlement au demandeur dès que cela est raisonnablement possible mais dans tous les cas dans un délai maximal de 15 jours à compter du moment où il est avisé du sinistre. Il se peut que le titulaire de carte soit obligé d’envoyer, à ses propres frais et risques, l’article endommagé pour lequel une demande de règlement est présentée, à l’Assureur.

I. Dispositions générales et conditions légales
Sauf indication contraire énoncée dans la présente attestation d’assurance ou dans la Police, les dispositions générales suivantes s’appliquent aux indemnités décrites dans le présent document.

Avis et preuve de sinistre
Immédiatement après avoir pris connaissance d’un sinistre ou d’un événement pouvant occasionner un sinistre couvert en vertu de la Police, vous devez aviser l’Assureur en composant le 1-855-255-5205 au Canada et aux États-Unis, ou le (613) 634-4991 dans la région locale ou à frais virés ailleurs dans le monde. Un formulaire de demande de règlement vous sera ensuite envoyé.

Il faut faire parvenir un avis écrit et une preuve de sinistre à l’Assureur dès qu’il est raisonnablement possible de le faire suivant l’événement ou le début du sinistre couvert par la Police, mais dans tous les cas dans un délai maximal de 90 jours à compter de la date dudit sinistre, sauf indication contraire énoncée aux termes de la couverture. Un avis écrit donné par ou pour le demandeur ou le bénéficiaire contenant des renseignements suffisants pour identifier le titulaire de carte sera réputé être un avis de sinistre.

L’omission de fournir l’avis de sinistre écrit ou la preuve du sinistre dans le délai prévu aux présentes ne rendra pas invalide la demande de règlement si l’avis écrit ou la preuve sont fournis dès que cela est raisonnablement possible, mais en aucun cas plus d’un an à partir de la date du sinistre, s’il est démontré qu’il n’était pas raisonnablement possible de fournir l’avis ou la preuve dans le délai prévu. Si l’avis ou la preuve sont fournis après un an, votre demande de règlement ne sera pas acceptée.

Règlement des demandes
Les indemnités payables en vertu de la Police seront versées dès réception d’une preuve de sinistre écrite, complète et jugée satisfaisante par l’Assureur.

Autres assurances
L’assurance offerte en vertu de la Police est une assurance supplémentaire. Cette assurance est en sus de toute autre assurance ou indemnisation applicable valide et percevable, disponible aux personnes assurées. L’Assureur ne sera responsable que du montant de la perte ou des dommages qui est en sus du montant couvert en vertu de cette autre assurance ou indemnisation et que du montant de toute franchise applicable, et uniquement si ces autres couvertures ont été réclamées et épuisées. L’assurance offerte en vertu de la présente Police ne s’applique pas comme assurance complémentaire et cela va prévaloir malgré toute disposition contraire énoncée dans les autres polices ou contrats d’assurances ou d’indemnisation. La Police ne rembourse les personnes assurées que dans la mesure où les dommages matériels directs ou le vol ne sont pas couverts par l’autre assurance.

Cadeaux
Les biens personnels assurés offerts en cadeau sont couverts par l’assurance achats et la garantie prolongée. En cas de sinistre, c’est le titulaire de carte et non la personne qui reçoit le cadeau qui doit présenter la demande de règlement.

Subrogation
Une fois l’indemnité en cas de sinistre versée à l’égard de la demande de règlement d’une personne assurée, l’Assureur sera subrogé dans tous les droits de la personne assurée et dans tous ses recours à l’encontre de toute partie pour un montant n’excédant pas le montant de l’indemnité versée pour ledit sinistre, et possédera l’intérêt requis pour intenter à ses frais une action en justice au nom de la personne assurée. La personne assurée devra apporter à l’Assureur toute l’aide que celui-ci peut raisonnablement exiger pour garantir ses droits et recours et, notamment, signer tout document nécessaire pour permettre à l’Assureur d’intenter une action en justice au nom de la personne assurée.

Fausse demande de règlement
Si vous présentez une demande de règlement en sachant qu’elle est fausse ou frauduleuse à quelque égard que ce soit, vous perdrez le bénéfice de l’assurance et n’aura plus droit au règlement de quelque demande que ce soit en vertu de la Police.

Action en justice
Toute action ou poursuite judiciaire intentée contre un assureur dans le but d’obtenir un paiement du produit de l’assurance aux termes du contrat est strictement interdite à moins qu’elle ne soit intentée dans le délai applicable établi par la Loi sur les assurances, la Loi sur la prescription des actions ou par toute autre loi applicable dans votre province ou territoire.

Plainte ou demande de renseignements
Si vous avez une plainte ou une demande de renseignements concernant quelque élément que ce soit de votre couverture, veuillez appeler l’Assureur au 1-855-255-5205. L’Assureur fera de son mieux pour régler votre plainte ou répondre à votre demande de renseignements. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, l’Assureur ne peut régler votre plainte ou répondre à votre demande de renseignements à votre entière satisfaction, vous pouvez envoyer votre plainte ou votre préoccupation par écrit à un organisme externe indépendant. Vous pouvez obtenir une information détaillée concernant le processus de règlement de l’Assureur et le recours externe en appelant l’Assureur au numéro susmentionné ou en visitant l’adresse suivante : www.assurantsolutions.ca/consumer-assistance.

Privée
L’Assureur peut recueillir, utiliser et partager les renseignements personnels que vous lui avez fournis et qui ont été obtenus de d’autres parties avec votre consentement, ou dans la mesure où cela est requis ou permis par la loi. L’Assureur peut utiliser ces renseignements pour vous servir à titre de client et communiquer avec vous. L’Assureur peut traiter ou stocker vos renseignements personnels dans un autre pays où ils peuvent faire l’objet d’accès par les autorités gouvernementales en vertu des lois applicables de ce pays. Vous pouvez obtenir une copie de la politique sur la vie privée de l’Assureur en composant le 1-888-778-8023 ou en visitant son site Web www.assurantsolutions.ca/privacy-fr. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant la politique sur la vie privée ou les options vous permettant de refuser ou de retirer votre consentement, vous pouvez téléphoner à l’Assureur au numéro indiqué ci-dessus.

French